top of page

How to Memorize Faster

When it comes to memorizing vocabulary in any language it can be frustrating and demotivating. “How can I just memorize that word or expression?” you would think. Well, our brain loves stories. that’s a fact. A story is easy to remember and we all know that we loved (and still do) when we were little. I remember when I first came to Japan and I didn’t speak a word. Well, “where is the toilet” was all I knew.

By making little connection to words and Kanji with something else…even non-sense connections, helped me memorizing even Kanji. “とりあえす” (to ri a e zu) “for the time being” or “for now”, very much used when you go out socializing, and you would go for a beer first, to warm up, “とりあえすビール” (let’s go for a beer first) is always used. How could I remember that? Well, I already knew the word “とり” which means “bird” and “あえす” sounded like “eyes” to me. There it was. My story. Instantly I was able to not only remember it, but also use it.


So, the conclusion. Make a story and even strange and stranger to help you remember it.

The brain loves stories and with a story you can memorize faster.


https://skillaccessgerman.com

bottom of page